Tick Studio

TickStudioHero

Tick Studio operates out of a townhouse in the East Village, where Suzanne works and lives. The newly renovated studio develops a range of products including glass, floor covering, upholstery, drapery, and wall covering. Suzanne also maintains a hand weaving practice and creates fine art woven sculptures from repurposed materials that are collected and exhibited worldwide.

The Tick Studio approach to woven design is like no other in the industry. We start by building fibers with different mills around the world, then weaving those fibers into prototypes of tectonic structures emulating architecture, bringing the exterior inside. These structures are then manifested into commercially tested products for the Architecture and Design industry.

Vedic Meditation takes place at 3 p.m. in the studio, along with classes and lectures based on the work of Thom Knoles, who shares knowledge gained through 30 years of living and working with Maharishi Mahesh Yogi. Thom and our teachers also conduct a series of talks at Tick Studio on a regular basis called The Soft Road.

Team

TickStudioPortrait_5

Meagan Phipps

mphipps@suzannetick.com

TickStudioPortrait_6

Meghan Spielman

mspielman@suzannetick.com

TickStudioPortrait_3

Christina Monastero

cmonastero@suzannetick.com

TickStudioPortrait9c

Tiffany Jaworski

tjaworski@suzannetick.com

TickStudioPortrait_2

Jennifer McCollum Roberts

jmccollumroberts@suzannetick.com

TIckStudioPortrait8

Carol Lindsey

clindsey@suzannetick.com

TickStudioPortrait_1

Adam Hare

ahare@suzannetick.com

TickStudioPortrait_4

Diane Lackner

dlackner@suzannetick.com

TickStudioPortrait_7

Edward Meade

emeade@suzannetick.com

44 E 3RD ST.

Tick Studio was the site of the Reuben Gallery in the late fifties and early sixties, where Anita Reuben pioneered Art Happenings and where artists such as Jim Dine, Allan Kaprow, Simone Forti, Robert Whitman, Claes Oldenburg, Red Grooms, and many more exhibited and performed their work. This rich tradition of innovation and exploration carries on into the present day.

In December 2015, Simone Forti of Danspace Project/MoMA visited Tick Studio and shared her memories of the Happenings. Danspace Project sponsored internationally acclaimed performance artist Eiko Otake to perform“A Body in Places” throughout the building for three evenings, an eerily provocative piece in memory of Eiko’s mother.

Tick Studio fosters an environment for experimentation and learning. For the past three years, Suzanne has hosted study groups for The New Shul, through which her Woven Torah Series is in the works.

_DJC5589
_DJC4112
_DJC2186
_DJC5982
_DJC4517
_DJC5882
_DJC2173
_DJC3107
_DJC2799
_DJC3530
_DJC5187
_DJC4782
_DJC4563
_DJC4630
_DJC5304
_DJC5387
_DJC5052
_DJC3301
_DJC2748
_DJC5589
_DJC2186
_DJC4517
_DJC2173
_DJC2799
_DJC5187
_DJC4563
_DJC5304
_DJC5052
_DJC2748